Meet the team

Operational management team

Alan Thornburrow, Director, Scotland.  Alan joined the team in August 2017 and is responsible for strategy and operations in Scotland. 
Email:  alan.thornburrow@bitc.org.uk

Claire Howe, Head of Membership, Scotland. Responsible for providing support to member companies to help them achieve their responsible business objectives, and keeping them informed of BITC activities. Claire manages a small team of Corporate Advisors.
Email: claire.howe@bitc.org.uk

James Tindell, Senior Programme Manager, Employee Volunteering. James manages and delivers volunteering services in Scotland, ensuring a wide range of opportunities and maximum benefits to businesses, employees and the local community.
Email: james.tindell@bitc.org.uk

Kate Hinder, Head of Communications. Kate sets and delivers the communications and marketing strategy that supports the brand, mission and membership of Business in the Community in Scotland.
Email:kate.hinder@bitc.org.uk

Elaine Gorman, Senior Programme Manager, Education. Elaine manages LifeSkills created by Barclays, a free, curriculum-linked programme developed with teachers and schools and colleges across Scotland. BITC Scotland is the in-school delivery partner for LifeSkills in Scotland. Elaine also looks after Business Connectors in Scotland.
Email: elaine.gorman@bitc.org.uk

Cynthia Marks (neé Fry), Campaign Manager. Cynthia oversees our strategic leadership activities by serving as the senior secretariat for our BITC Scotland Leadership Groups.  
Email: cynthia.fry@bitc.org.uk

Evelyn Rorie, Office Manager/PA to Executive Director for Membership and Nations.  Evelyn provides support to the Executive Director and UK Membership team and is also responsible for HR, facilities and office management duties in the Scotland Office.  
Email: evelyn.rorie@bitc.org.uk

The Team

Alistair Kerr, Content Producer. Produces text and multimedia content across all of Business in the Community Scotland's communication channels including the website and social media platforms.
Email: alistair.kerr@bitc.org.uk

Sheena Hunter, Fundraising Consultant. Responsible for developing and delivering Business in the Community Scotland's voluntary income strategy. Sheena works across the organisation in Scotland to highlight opportunities and packages for individuals and organisations to support.
Email: fundraising.consultant@bitc.org.uk

Rachael Moffat, Programme Support Coordinator. Rachael is responsible for supporting programme delivery for a range of programmes at Business in the Community Scotland, primarly for employee volunteering. She is also responsible for PVG and general office duties. 
Email: rachael.moffat@bitc.org.uk

Tracey Smith, PA to Director, Scotland. Tracey is responsible for diary management, facilities and IT support as well as providing administrative support to the Advisory Board and the BITC Scotland Team.
Email: tracey.smith@bitc.org.uk

Christine Murphy, Programme Manager. Christine manages Business Class, working with schools and businesses across Scotland.
Email: christine.murphy@bitc.org.uk

Vivian Maeda, Programme Manager. Leads on Food for Thought Programme, a National Food Education Partnership with Scottish Government and Education Scotland - developing relevant business partnerships towards achieving a Good Food Nation. Manager of Ecotown - a sustainability staff engagement proposition and Access the Buyer - where SMEs and large companies are able to meet and form new partnerships.
Email: vivian.maeda@bitc.org.uk

Ailsa Cormie, Programme Manager. Manages the smooth planning and delivery of employee volunteering opportunities, giving both the business and the community the confidence to work well together on a range of activities. Ailsa helps lead on the Food for Thought programme, is also responsible for the Dundee Employability Project, and supports the UK Responsible Awards programme in Scotland.       
Email: ailsa.cormie@bitc.org.uk

Chloe Shand, Client Support Manager. Chloe supports the clients within the Ready for Work programme which supports some of society's most disadvantaged people in entering employment, with business involvement at every step of the way.
Email: chloe.shand@bitc.org.uk

Elspeth Hendry, Ready for Work Programme Manager. Elspeth manages the Ready for Work programme which supports some of society's most disadvantaged people in entering employment, with business involvement at every step of the way.
Email: elspeth.hendry@bitc.org.uk

Alison Jones, Corporate Adviser. Alison is responsible for managing the relationships with many of our members in Scotland and works closely with Clare Howe on membership and engaging new businesses.
Email: alison.jones@bitc.org.uk

Suzanne Adams, LifeSkills Facilitator.  Delivers Barclays’ LifeSkills programme, a free, curriculum-linked programme created by Barclays and developed with teachers to schools and colleges across Scotland. BITC Scotland is the in-school delivery partner for LifeSkills in Scotland
Email:  suzanne.adams@bitc.org.uk

Louise Cascarino, LifeSkills Facilitator. Delivers Barclays’ LifeSkills programme, a free, curriculum-linked programme created by Barclays and developed with teachers to schools and colleges across Scotland. BITC Scotland is the in-school delivery partner for LifeSkills in Scotland. Email: louise.cascarino@bitc.org.uk

Sarah Donnelly, LifeSkills Facilitator. Delivers Barclays’ LifeSkills programme, a free, curriculum-linked programme created by Barclays and developed with teachers to schools and colleges across Scotland. BITC Scotland is the in-school delivery partner for LifeSkills in Scotland. Email: sarah.donnelly@bitc.org.uk

Joanna Robertson, LifeSkills Coordinator. Delivers Barclays’ LifeSkills programme, a free, curriculum-linked programme created by Barclays and developed with teachers to schools and colleges across Scotland. BITC Scotland is the in-school delivery partner for LifeSkills in Scotland. Email: joanna.robertson@bitc.org.uk